1 month of Blog writing!

Hey Everyone,

I just want to thank everyone that has visited my blog this past month. It’s been lots of fun and I’m excited to see how things will look in a year with this blog. I did start blog writing a few years ago with my Xanga account but that was more of a personal blog about what was going on with my life.  I don’t even know if that account still exists.

If you’re thinking of starting your own blog, DO IT!  I don’t consider myself an amazing writer but I love writing about Travel.  Find something you love and write about it.  If you love ant farms, I’m sure there are other people out there that love ant farms too.  Here are some of the things I’ve learned about blogging:

1. Don’t compare but learn from others

Sometimes we tend to be the biggest critic of ourselves. We tend to look at other people and compare ourselves and then we think we’re not good enough.  Stop comparing and try to learn how others are blogging.  Look for people that have been blogging for a long time and try to see if you can model what they have done.  There is no right or wrong answer on how to blog, you just need to figure out what works for you.

2.  Connect with other bloggers from your niche

I remember when I first started to use the internet back in the 90s, I used to go into chat rooms and meet other people from different parts of the world.  It was fun and interesting how you can make a connection with someone via the internet.  I still keep in contact with one of the very first friends I made via a chat room.  I haven’t met her yet, but one of these days we plan to meet up.  The blogging community is so interesting and I’m excited to meet other bloggers out there. If you’re also a travel blogger, sign up with the Travel Blog Exchange.

3.  Read other blogs

Sometimes I picture myself on the beach with my laptop, just reading all of my favorite blogs.  I wish I could read blogs all day everyday but unfortunately I have a 9-5 job.  One of my favorite tools of keeping track of all my blogs is Bloglovin. I came across this site in January and I love the interface and how you can put all your favorite blogs into categories. (ps. Follow my blog with bloglovin)

4.  Have fun

If you’re not having fun writing blogs and it feels more like a chore, maybe you need to change your niche.  Before I started writing Travelhugger, I started writing another blog about reality shows.  I quickly realized that I would rather watch reality shows than write about it.  That’s when Travelhugger was born.  I remember reading other travel blogs and thought, hey maybe I should try it.  I’m so glad I did because I love it and I’m having lots of fun with it.

Thanks again for reading my blog. Hopefully you have enjoyed it so far.  In a couple of weeks I will launch my Travelhugger youtube channel and you will see my very first episode. So stay tuned for that!

don’t forget to follow me on twitter @travelhugger!

Leave a Reply

