Lofty Living in Hong Kong for a week

image from Airbnb - I realized I didn't get a full shot of the apartment so here it is!

I love renting out apartments on my vacay as opposed to staying at a hotel.  You have more space and you get to feel like a local for a short period.  This was my second time renting out an apartment for my vacay (if you remember, I had rented out an apartment in Paris).  This time, I used the website AirBnb to book the loft in Hong Kong.  The process was smooth as Jiffy’s peanut butter, and I couldn’t have asked for a better host, Candace.

Candace is the owner of the loft and she was just amazing!  We were going back and forth with our emails for a few months, mostly me because I had a million questions since this was my first trip to Hong Kong.  Candace answered all my questions and was very quick at responding to my emails.  I didn’t think we were going to meet in person, but the universe made it happen and we finally got to meet face to face when we checked in.  She really helped make our Hong Kong experience amazing.

So let me tell you how beautiful this loft is.  Well just look at the pictures.  Seriously, who wouldn’t want to stay here!  It looks like all the pictures on Airbnb (all pictures in this post, taken by me except for the picture at the beginning of this post) and it looks like it’s from a design magazine.  Well it has been in a few design magazines, and I’m not surprised since Candace is also an amazing interior designer.

The Kitchen - I love the wooden ladder!

The open closet/Office Area

The details - the pile of magazines, the vintage luggage, the magazine pictures over the desk

I love the placement of the photos over the couch.

The Bicycle in the corner

I loved the black and white theme, the vintage luggage, the concrete floor, the big wooden table (I’ve always wanted one!), the bicycle, the huge black and white photo over the bed, the many black and white photos over the couch, the open walk in closet, the many design magazines on the floor that just go with everything.  I know if I were to do the same, it would just look like a pile of magazines on the floor, but the way Candace did it, it just goes and makes sense.  I loved it all…can you tell?!

I’m not also a lover of travel, I also love interior design and the way the loft was designed, has inspired me with some new ideas for our place.  So thank you Candace!

I really felt at home and didn’t want to leave.  Mr. Leung, the doorman was also great help.  We bumped into him on the street and it’s a good thing we did because we were going the wrong way!  He guided us to the right direction.

The location of the loft is close to Man Mo Temple and walking distance to Soho, Sheung Wan Metro, and Central.  You won’t go hungry in this neighborhood with all the restaurants around.  Plus, the world famous egg tart pastry shop, Tai Cheong Bakery, is 5 mins away from the loft.  We ate lots of egg tarts during our stay 🙂

Man Mo Temple

If you’re traveling to Hong Kong soon, I recommend staying at Candace’s loft. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed!  Why wouldn’t you want to stay in a stylish loft?!

2 Comments on “Lofty Living in Hong Kong for a week”

  1. Rich says:

    The area is awesome – I loved and miss Soho and all that great food, especially those egg tarts!

  2. […] So I’m searching the internet for some inspiration.  What do you think of  black, white and green color scheme?  I know I want to do black and white but I want to add a third color for some flavour (and yes I know black isn’t a color, but whatevs).  My inspiration for the bedroom came from our stay in Hong Kong at this beautiful loft. Read more about it here. […]


Leave a Reply

